
 
 
Notice of Rule Change – Explanatory Statement 
Craft Distilleries 
 
This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor Control Board’s 
adoption of changes to the rules necessary to implement legislation 
regarding craft distilleries. 
 
The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a 
concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code 
Reviser.  This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the 
proposed rule making. 
 
Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to receive 
this document, the Liquor Control Board will file the amended rule with the Office of the 
Code Reviser.  This rule change will become effective 31 days after filing (approximately 
January 30, 2009). 
 
The Liquor Control Board appreciates your involvement in this rule making process.  If 
you have any questions, please contact Karen McCall, Rules Coordinator, at (360) 664-
1631 or e-mail at rules@liq.wa.gov.  

_______________________________ 
 
 
What are the agency’s reasons for revising these rules? 
 
A legislative bill pertaining to craft distilleries was adopted in 2008.  The Washington 
State Liquor Control Board is updating its rules to reflect the changes made by this bill.   
 
Legislative.   
 
SHB 2959 (2008) created a new license for craft distilleries and stipulated the 
associated allowances and requirements. 

1. Craft distillers may produce 20,000 gallons or less of spirits per year. 
2. At least half of the raw materials used in the production must be grown in the 

state of Washington.  (This requirement does not apply to distillers under the 
$2000 license.) 

3. The license fee is $100 per year. 
4. A craft distillery may sell up to two liters of spirits of its own production per 

person per day for off-premises consumption.  Previously, distilleries were 
allowed to sell only to the WSLCB or to out-of-state entities. 
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5. A craft distillery may provide free samples of its own spirits to customers at the 
distillery premises.  All servers must have a class 12 alcohol server permit. 

 
 
 
 What changes are being made? 
 
Amendatory Chapter Title – 314-28 WAC – Distillers. 
The title of Chapter 314-28 WAC is changed from "Fruit distillers" to "Distillers". 
 
Amendatory Section 314-28-010 – Records. 
The record requirements for all distillery types are stipulated.  Requirements include 
which records must be retained, how long they must be retained, and which copies of 
records the WSLCB requires or may request.  Additional requirements that apply only to 
craft distilleries are also stipulated (e.g. sales records, monthly returns). 
 
New Section 314-28-050 – What does a craft distillery license allow? 
A craft distillery is allowed to produce up to 20,000 proof gallons of its own spirits per 
year.  It is also allowed to sell spirits directly to customers at the licensed premises (for 
off-premises consumption), and to provide free samples of its own production to 
customers on the distillery premises, and to retailers. 
New Section 314-28-060 – What are the general requirements for a craft 
distillery license? 
General requirements include submitting licensing documents, as well as permits 
required by the federal government; ensuring that at least 50% of all raw materials are 
produced in Washington; and purchasing and pricing as directed by the WSLCB. 
 
New Section 314-28-070 – What are the monthly reporting and payment 
requirements for a craft distillery license? 
A craft distillery must submit monthly reports and payments to the WSLCB.  Production 
and the production process are defined, and how production is quantified is explained. 
 
New Section 314-28-080 – What if a craft distillery license fails to report or 
pay, or reports or pays late? 
The WSLCB assesses a penalty of 2% per month, and may require a surety bond or 
dedicated savings account if (1) a licensee reports or pays more than 30 days late two 
or more times within a 2-year period, (2) a licensee reports or pays more than 30 days 
late two months in a row, or (3) a payment is returned for insufficient funds. 
 
New Section 314-28-090 – Craft distilleries—Retail pricing—Selling to 
customers and to the board. 
If a craft distillery sells its product within the state, it must obtain retail pricing from the 
WSLCB, and use the retail prices as set by the WSLCB.  If a licensee wants to have its 
products sold at state liquor stores, then the licensee must send a request for product 
listing.  
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New Section 314-28-200 – Adoption of federal laws. 
A craft distillery licensee must meet all laws, rules and regulations of the federal 
government. 
 
 
Rule Adoption 
 
The Board adopted these rule changes on December 17, 2008.   The rule was filed on 
December 29, 2008 and will be effective January 30, 2009. 
 
 
 

 
 
Summary of all public comments received on this rule 
proposal. 
 
The WSLCB filed Pre-proposal (CR 101) on July 15, 2008 and proposed rules (CR 102) 
were filed on October 17, 2008   A public hearing was held on December 3, 2008, in 
Olympia, Washington, at WSLCB headquarters.  No one testified at the December 3rd 
public hearing.  No written comment was received. 
 
 
 
Text of Rules (Estimated effective date is January 30, 2009) 
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending Order 172, Resolution No. 181, 

filed 3/13/86) 

 

 WAC 314-28-010  Records.  ((All fruit distillers, whether 

operating under the general distiller's license or under the two 

hundred dollar license, provided in section 23-D of the 

Washington State Liquor Act (RCW 66.24.140), and who manufacture 

brandy or wine spirits intended for use by domestic wineries for 

brandy or wine spirits addition in the manufacture of wine, must 

keep separate records concerning such brandy or wine spirits on 

forms approved by the board, and such records must be kept 

separate and apart from any other records kept or required to be 

kept and maintained.)) (1) All distilleries licensed under RCW 

66.24.140 and 66.24.145, including craft, fruit, and laboratory 

distillers: 

 (a) Must keep records concerning any spirits, whether 

produced or purchased, for two years after each sale.  These 

records must be kept separate from any other records.  A 

distiller may be required to report on forms approved by the 

board; 

 (b) Must, in case of spirits exported or sold, preserve all 

bills of lading and other evidence of shipment; and 

 (c) Must submit duplicate copies of transcripts, notices, 

or other data that are required by the federal government to the 

board if requested, within thirty days of the notice of such 

request.  A distiller shall also furnish copies of the bills of 
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lading, covering all shipments of the products of the licensee, 

to the board within thirty days of notice of such request. 

 (2) A craft distiller must: 

 (a) Preserve all sales records, in the case of retail sales 

to consumers, in addition to the records listed in subsection 

(1)(b) of this section; and 

 (b) Submit duplicate copies of its monthly returns to the 

board upon request, in addition to the duplicate copies listed 

in subsection (1)(c) of this section.  The same conditions apply 

as in subsection (1)(c) of this section. 

 

[Statutory Authority:  RCW 66.08.030.  86-07-022 (Order 172, 

Resolution No. 181), § 314-28-010, filed 3/13/86; Order 14, § 

314-28-010, filed 12/1/70, effective 1/1/71; Rule 84, filed 

6/13/63.] 

 
 

NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-050  What does a craft distillery license allow?  

(1) A craft distillery license allows a licensee to: 

 (a) Produce twenty thousand proof gallons or less of its 

own spirits per calendar year.  A "proof gallon" is one liquid 

gallon of spirits that is fifty percent alcohol at sixty degrees 

Fahrenheit; 



12/29/08 11:23 AM [ 6 ] OTS-1949.5 

 (b) Sell spirits of its own production directly to a 

customer for off-premises consumption, provided that the sale 

occurs when the customer is physically present on the licensed 

premises.  A licensee may sell no more than two liters per 

customer per day.  A craft distiller may not sell liquor 

products of someone else's production; 

 (c) Sell spirits of its own production to the board 

provided that the product is "listed" by the board, or is 

special-ordered by an individual Washington state liquor store; 

 (d) Sell to out-of-state entities; 

 (e) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its own 

production to persons on the distillery premises.  Each sample 

must be one-half ounce or less, with no more than two ounces of 

samples provided per person per day.  Samples must be unaltered, 

and anyone involved in the serving of such samples must have a 

valid Class 12 alcohol server permit.  Samples must be in 

compliance with RCW 66.28.040 and all applicable WACs, and are 

subject to taxes under WAC 314-28-070; and 

 (f) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its own 

production to retailers.  Samples must be unaltered, and in 

compliance with RCW 66.28.040 and all applicable WACs, including 

WAC 314-44-005 and 314-64-08001.  Samples are considered sales 

and are subject to taxes under WAC 314-28-070. 

 (2) A craft distillery licensee may not sell directly to 

in-state retailers or in-state distributors, but only to on-

premises customers, to the board, and to out-of-state entities, 
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as stipulated in subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) of this 

section. 

 

[] 

 
 

NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-060  What are the general requirements for a 

craft distillery license?  Per RCW 66.24.140 and 66.24.145, a 

craft distillery licensee is required to: 

 (1) Submit copies of all permits required by the federal 

government; 

 (2) Submit other licensing documents as determined by the 

board.  Other documents may include, but are not limited to, a 

personal criminal history statement, a financial statement, the 

right to the real property, and the tied house statement; 

 (3) Ensure a minimum of fifty percent of all raw materials 

(including any neutral grain spirits and the raw materials that 

go into making mash, wort or wash) used in the monthly 

production of the spirits product are grown in the state of 

Washington.  Water is not considered a raw material grown in the 

state of Washington; 

 (4) Purchase any spirits sold at the distillery premises 

for off-premises consumption from the board, at the price set by 

the board; 
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 (5) Purchase any spirits used for sampling at the 

distillery premises from the board; 

 (6) Purchase any spirits used for samples provided to 

retailers from the board; and 

 (7) Meet any other applicable requirements stated in RCW 

and WAC. 

 

[] 

 
 

NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-070  What are the monthly reporting and payment 

requirements for a craft distillery license?  A craft distiller 

must submit monthly reports and payments to the board. 

 (1) Monthly reports.  The required monthly reports must be: 

 (a) On a form furnished by the board or in a format 

approved by the board; 

 (b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or 

payment due; 

 (c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before 

the twentieth day of each month, for the previous month.  (For 

example, a report listing transactions for the month of January 

is due by February 20th.) When the twentieth day of the month 

falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must 
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be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no later than the next 

postal business day; and 

 (d) Filed separately for each liquor license held. 

 (2) For reporting purposes, production is the distillation 

of spirits from mash, wort, wash or any other distilling 

material.  After the production process is completed, a 

production gauge shall be made to establish the quantity and 

proof of the spirits produced.  The designation as to the kind 

of spirits shall also be made at the time of the production 

gauge.  A record of the production gauge shall be maintained by 

the distiller.  The completion of the production process is when 

the product is packaged for distribution.  Production quantities 

are reportable within thirty days of the completion of the 

production process. 

 (3) Payments to the board.  A distillery must pay the 

difference between the cost of the alcohol purchased by the 

board and the sale of alcohol at the established retail price, 

less the established commission rate during the preceding 

calendar month, including samples at no charge (see WAC 314-64-

08001 for more information). 

 (a) Any on-premises sale or sample provided to a consumer 

is considered a sale reportable to the board. 

 (b) Samples provided to retailers are considered sales 

reportable to the board. 

 (c) Payments must be submitted, with monthly reports, to 

the board on or before the twentieth day of each month, for the 

previous month.  (For example, payment for a report listing 
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transactions for the month of January is due by February 20th.) 

When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 

or a legal holiday, payment must be postmarked by the U.S. 

postal service no later than the next postal business day. 

 

[] 

 
 

NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-080  What if a craft distillery licensee fails 

to report or pay, or reports or pays late?  If a craft distiller 

fails to submit its monthly reports or payment to the board, or 

submits late, then the licensee is subject to penalties and 

surety bonds. 

 (1) Penalties.  A penalty of two percent per month will be 

assessed on any payments postmarked after the twentieth day of 

the month following the month of sale.  When the twentieth day 

of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, 

the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no 

later than the next postal business day. 

 (2) Surety bonds.  A "surety bond" is a type of insurance 

policy that guarantees payment to the state, and is executed by 

a surety company authorized to do business in the state of 

Washington.  Surety bond requirements are as follows: 
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 (a) Must be on a surety bond form and in an amount 

acceptable to the board; 

 (b) Payable to the "Washington state liquor control board"; 

and 

 (c) Conditioned that the licensee will pay the taxes and 

penalties levied by RCW 66.28.040 and by all applicable WACs. 

 (3) The board may require a craft distillery to obtain a 

surety bond or assignment of savings account, within twenty-one 

days after a notification by mail, if any of the following 

occur: 

 (a) A report or payment is missing more than thirty days 

past the required filing date, for two or more consecutive 

months; 

 (b) A report or payment is missing more than thirty days 

past the required filing date, for two or more times within a 

two-year period; or 

 (c) Return of payment for nonsufficient funds. 

 (4) As an option to obtaining a surety bond, a licensee may 

create an assignment of savings account for the board in the 

same amount as required for a surety bond.  Requests for this 

option must be submitted in writing to the board's financial 

division. 

 (5) The amount of a surety bond or savings account required 

by this chapter must be either three thousand dollars, or the 

total of the highest four months' worth of liability for the 

previous twelve month period, whichever is greater.  The 

licensee must maintain the bond for at least two years. 
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 (6) Surety bond and savings account amounts may be reviewed 

annually and compared to the last twelve months' tax liability 

of the licensee.  If the current bond or savings account amount 

does not meet the requirements outlined in this section, the 

licensee will be required to increase the bond amount or amount 

on deposit within twenty-one days. 

 (7) If a licensee holds a surety bond or savings account, 

the board will immediately start the process to collect overdue 

payments from the surety company or assigned account.  If the 

exact amount of payment due is not known because of missing 

reports, the board will estimate the payment due based on 

previous production, receipts, and/or sales. 

 

[] 

 
 

NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-090  Craft distilleries--Selling in-state, 

retail pricing and product listing--Selling out-of-state--

Special orders.  (1) What steps must a craft distillery licensee 

take to sell a spirits product in the state of Washington? 

 (a) Selling a spirits product at a state liquor store.  

There are two ways to sell a spirits product at a state liquor 

store.  One way is through the special order process, which is 

explained in subsection (3) of this section ("How to special 
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order a product.").  The second way is through product listing 

(explained in this subsection).  If a craft distillery licensee 

wants the board to regularly stock its product on the shelf at a 

state liquor store, a licensee must request the board to list 

its product.  If the board agrees to list the product, a 

licensee must then sell its product to the board and transport 

its product to the board's distribution center. 

 (b) Selling a spirits product at a craft distillery 

premises.  Before a craft distillery licensee may sell its 

product to a customer (i.e., any individual who is twenty-one 

years old or older) at its distillery premises, a licensee must 

first obtain a retail price from the board, sell its product to 

the board, and then purchase its product back from the board.  

Product that a licensee produces and sells at its distillery 

premises is not transported to the board's distribution center. 

 (c) Listing a product.  A craft distillery licensee must 

submit a formal request to the board to have the board regularly 

stock its product at a state liquor store.  The board's 

purchasing division administers the listing process. 

 (i) A licensee must submit the following documents and 

information:  A completed standard price quotation form, a 

listing request profile, bottle dimensions, an electronic color 

photograph of the product, a copy of the federal certificate of 

label approval, and a signed "tied house" statement. 

 (ii) The purchasing division shall apply the same 

consideration to all listing requests. 
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 (iii) A craft distillery licensee is not required to submit 

a formal request for product listing if a licensee sells its 

product in-state only by special order (see subsection (3) of 

this section, "How to special order a product."). 

 (d) Obtaining a retail price.  A craft distillery licensee 

must submit a pricing quote to the board forty-five days prior 

to the first day of the effective pricing month.  A pricing 

quote submittal includes a completed standard price quotation 

form, and the product's federal certificate of label approval.  

The board will then set the retail price. 

 (i) Pricing may not be changed within a calendar month. 

 (ii) A craft distillery licensee is required to sell to its 

on-premises customers at the same retail price as set by the 

board.  If and when the board offers a temporary price reduction 

for a period of time, a licensee may also sell its product at 

the reduced price, but only during that same period of time. 

 (2) What are the requirements for a craft distillery 

licensee to sell its spirits product outside the state of 

Washington? 

 (a) A craft distillery licensee shall include, in its 

monthly report to the board, information on the product it 

produces in-state and sells out-of-state.  Information includes, 

but is not limited to, the amount of proof gallons sold, and the 

composition of raw materials used in production of the product 

(see WAC 314-28-070). 
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 (b) Product produced in-state and sold out-of-state counts 

toward a licensee's twenty thousand proof gallons per calendar 

year production limit (see WAC 314-28-050). 

 (c) Product produced in-state and sold out-of-state is 

subject to the fifty percent Washington grown raw materials 

requirement (see WAC 314-28-060). 

 (d) Product sold out-of-state is not subject to retail 

pricing by the board. 

 (e) A craft distillery licensee is not subject to 

Washington state liquor taxes on any product the licensee sells 

out-of-state. 

 (3) How to special order a product. 

 (a) If a customer, such as an individual person or a 

restaurant licensee, wants to purchase a spirits product that is 

not carried on the shelf at a state liquor store, then the 

following steps may be taken to special order the product: 

 (i) The customer must place a special order request with a 

state liquor store; 

 (ii) The store forwards the special order request to the 

board's purchasing division; 

 (iii) The purchasing division orders the product from the 

craft distillery licensee.  To receive an order, the craft 

distillery licensee must have a product listing or a product 

retail price, as described in subsection (1)(c) and (d) of this 

section; 

 (iv) The craft distillery licensee sends the product to the 

board's distribution center; and 
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 (v) The distribution center ships the product to the state 

liquor store that originally took the customer's special order 

request (see (a)(ii) of this subsection). 

 (b) For additional information regarding special order 

requests, refer to chapter 314-76 WAC. 

 

[] 
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NEW SECTION 

 

 WAC 314-28-200  Adoption of federal laws.  All laws, rules 

and regulations of the federal government, or any subsequent 

modification thereof, applicable to the distillation of spirits, 

wines, cordials, liquors, etc., are by reference hereby adopted 

and promulgated as the rules and regulations of this board, 

unless the board implements different procedures by rule or 

policy. 

 

[] 
 
 
 
 


