
 
 
Notice of Rule Change – Explanatory Statement 
Tobacco sampling and official forms of identification to show 
proof of age to purchase tobacco 
 
This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor Control 
Board’s adoption of changes to the rules regarding tobacco sampling 
and repealing the rule on official forms of identification to show proof 
of age to purchase tobacco. 
 
The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to 
complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the 
Office of the Code Reviser.  This statement must be provided to anyone who 
gave comment about the proposed rule making. 
 
Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to 
receive this document, the Liquor Control Board will file the amended rule with 
the Office of the Code Reviser.  This rule change will become effective 31 days 
after filing (approximately November 1, 2008). 
 
The Liquor Control Board appreciates your involvement in this rule making 
process.  If you have any questions, please contact Karen McCall, Rules 
Coordinator, at (360) 664-1631 or e-mail at rules@liq.wa.gov.  

_______________________________ 
 
 
What are the agency’s reasons for revising these 
rules? 
 
Legislation enacted during the 2005 legislative session eliminated certain 
documents and added tribal enrollment cards to a list of officially issued 
documents that can be used to prove age when purchasing liquor and tobacco.   
 
Legislative changes.  The Legislature changed RCW 70.155.090 as follows: 

1. SHB 1496 (2005 session) - Authorizes enrollment cards issued by the 
governing authority of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in 
Washington to be used as identification for the purchase of tobacco.  The 
enrollment card must incorporate security features comparable to those 
implemented by the Department Of Licensing for Washington drivers' 
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licenses.  The tribe must give the liquor control board at least 90 days 
notice of intent to use the tribal enrollment card for the purpose of 
purchasing alcohol or tobacco. The liquor control board will notify 
licensees of the new tribal enrollment card.  

 
2. The Legislature passed a law banning the use of sampling as a marketing 

tool for both cigarettes and other tobacco products.  The R J Reynolds 
Tobacco Company sued the state alleging that, as to cigarettes, the state 
was preempted by Federal law and could not impose a sampling ban on 
cigarettes.  That left a state ban on sampling for other tobacco products.  
WSLCB rules must be updated as a result of legislative action and the 
resulting lawsuit settlement. 

 
 
 What changes are being made? 
 

1. Tobacco sampling WACs 314-10-090 and 314-10-100.  
     The rules on tobacco sampling must be modified to ban sampling on other  
     tobacco products but continue to allow the sampling of cigarettes.  The  
     proposed rules also require that those conducting sampling activities provide  
     the WSLCB with notice of the activity 45 days prior to the event. 
 

2. Tribal enrollment cards as official ID - Repeal WAC 314-10-050. 
     The agency rule repeats the description of documents contained in RCW  
     70.155.090 and does not add any additional clarifying language.  This WAC  
     may be repealed. 
 
 
Rule Adoption 
 
The Board adopted these rule changes on September 24, 2008.   The rule will be 
filed on September 30, 2008 and will be effective November 1, 2008. 
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Summary of all public comments received on this rule 
proposal. 
 
The Liquor Control Board received public comment in writing on sampling of 
cigarettes WAC 314-10-090 and 314-10-100 during the comment period that 
ended April 14, 2008. No comment was received at the public meeting held on 
April 9, 2008. 
 
Summary of comments received during the supplemental comment period 
ending September 5, 2008 
 
Comment: 
1.  Just to be clear, if the proposal #08-15 passes, are tobacco products other 
than cigarettes allowed to be sampled as long as the WA State Liquor Control 
Board is notified 45 days prior to the event? 
 
Response: 
Only cigarettes may be sampled in Washington.  The Legislature banned all 
sampling in 2006.  As a result of a lawsuit, cigarette sampling is allowed under 
federal law that preempts state law on this subject.  The 45 day pre-event 
notification applies to cigarette sampling.  No other tobacco products may be 
used for sampling.  
 
 
Summary of comments received during comment period ending September 5, 
2008 
Comment: 
1.  Advance notice of any cigarette sampling activity should be required.  The 
notice should be submitted to the Liquor Control Board 45 days prior to the 
event.  Under current rules, notice to Public Health of sampling events takes 
place a minimum of 30 days and up to 7 months after the activity. 
 
Response: 
Current rules allow the board to request tobacco sampling licensees provide the 
locations and times of sampling activities. The board distributes those times and 
places to stakeholders.  There is no specific time requirement in the rule for prior 
notice of sampling events.  
 
Comment: 
2.  If legal authority exists, sampling rules should also include a process for 
objecting to a sampling license based on a retailer’s violation history of: 
a.  selling tobacco products to minors; 
b.  the state’s Clear Air Act; 
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c.  failure to pay fees, fines, or liens, or in other ways not being in good standing 
with Public Health or the state; or 
d.  other state laws. 
 
Response: 
a.  A tobacco sampler’s license is different from a tobacco retailer license.    The 
violation history of a retailer has no bearing on a tobacco sampler’s license.   
b.  The board has suspension/revocation rights for sampling licensees based on 
failure to comply with sampling reports and activities.  The board has 
administrative responsibilities for youth access to tobacco laws on a retail 
licensee’s premises but we do not have enforcement responsibility to for the 
state’s clean air act.   
c. The Board does not have authority to suspend or revoke a sampling license 
based on failure to pay fines, fees or liens, or in other ways not being in 
compliance with state laws. 
d.  The department of Licensing can hold the retail license up for renewal based 
on fines or liens not paid to the state.  
 
 
 
Public Comment Participant List 
 
Name and Affiliation 
 
Written comments during comment period ending September 5, 2008 
 
Nick Backes,Tax Manager GMR Marketing LLC | Radiate Group Inc. 
 
Written comments during comment period ending April 14, 2008 
 
Scott Neal, Tobacco Prevention Program Manager, Seattle & King County Public 
Health 
David Fleming, Director, Public Health, Seattle & King County 
Erin Dziedzic, Washington State Government Relations Director, American 

Cancer Society 
Lucy Culp, Washington Government Affairs Director, American Heart Association 
Carrie Nyssen, Director of Advocacy, American Lung Association of Washington 
Paul Davis, Tobacco Prevention and Control Unit, Washington State Department 

of Health 
Douglas Allen, Director, Division of Alcohol and Substance Abuse, Department 

of Social and Health Services. 
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Testimony at Public Hearing –  April 9, 2008 at Olympia, WA 
 
None 
 
Testimony at Public Hearing – August 27, 2008 at Olympia, WA 
 
None 
 
Text of modified rules (Estimated effective date is November 1, 2008) 
 
Tobacco sampling and repeal of official forms of 
identification to show proof of age to purchase tobacco 
 
Amend WAC 314-10-090  Tobacco sampling—Licenses. What 
tobacco products may be used for sampling promotions?  (1) 
No person may engage in providing tobacco samples of 
tobacco products other than cigarettes within Washington 
state.  

(2) No person may engage in providing samples of 
cigarettes without a valid sampler's license.  A firm 
contracting with a tobacco manufacturer to distribute 
samples of a manufacturer's product is deemed to be the 
person engaged in the business of sampling.  The liquor 
control board will issue any sampler's licenses. 
 (2) (3) The annual fee for a manufacturer's cigarette 
samplers license within the state is $500 and is designated 
a Class T1 license.  The fee for independent businesses 
that provide samples of tobacco products cigarettes is $50 
and is designated a Class T2 license.  All sampler's 
licenses expire on the 30th day of June each year and must 
be renewed annually. 
 In adopting the language of WAC 314-10-090(3), the 
board affirms that sampling does have a direct impact upon 
the availability of product to minors.  Many sampling 
activities, because of the large volume of product offered, 
promote secondary distribution to bystanders, especially 
minors.  Addiction to nicotine can occur quickly after the 
use of a relatively small amount of product.  It is the 
board's intention to limit this amount thereby reducing the 
opportunity and potential for product to be redistributed 
to minors. 
 (3) (4) A sample is the smallest portion 
representative of the product that is available for retail 
sales and distribution.  T1 and T2 license holders may 
distribute samples of tobacco products cigarettes pursuant 
to chapter 70.155 RCW and chapter 314-10 WAC as follows: 
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 (a) Cigarettes:  No more than one sample package may 
be furnished per eligible customer per day.  Such sample 
shall not contain more than twenty cigarettes per sample 
package. 
 (b) Cigars:  No more than one sample of any single 
brand and type and no more than two samples may be 
furnished per eligible customer per day.  Such sample shall 
not contain more than one cigar per sample package. 
 (c) Smokeless tobacco products:  No more than one 
sample can, package or pouch may be furnished per eligible 
customer per day.  Such sample can, package or pouch shall 
not exceed the size of the smallest unit available for sale 
at retail. 
 (d) All other tobacco products:  No more than one 
sample unit may be furnished per eligible customer per day.  
Such sample unit shall not exceed the size of the smallest 
unit available for sale at retail. 
 (e) T1 and T2 licensees that have sample packages 
available that contain less tobacco product fewer 
cigarettes than allowed by this section are encouraged to 
provide such alternative sizes. 
 
[Statutory Authority:  RCW 70.155.110.  96-19-018, § 314-
10-090, filed 9/6/96, effective 10/7/96.  Statutory 
Authority:  RCW 66.08.030.  93-23-016, § 314-10-090, filed 
11/5/93, effective 12/6/93.] 
 
 
 WAC 314-10-100  Samplers license--Distribution of 
tobacco products. How may cigarette sampling activity be 
conducted? (1) The cigarette sampler's license entitles the 
licensee, and employees or agents of the licensee, to 
distribute samples at any lawful location in the state 
during the term of the license.  The person engaged in 
sampling shall carry the Class T1 or T2 license or a copy 
of the license at all times and produce same at the request 
of an enforcement officer as defined in RCW 7.80.040. 
 (2) No person may distribute or offer to distribute 
samples in a public place.  This prohibition does not apply 
to: 
 (a) An area to which persons under 18 years of age are 
denied admission, 
 (b) A store or concession to which a cigarette 
retailers license has been issued, or 
 (c) At or adjacent to a production, repair or outdoor 
construction site or facility. 
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 (3) Notwithstanding (2) above, no person may 
distribute or offer to distribute samples within or on a 
public street, sidewalk, or park that is within 500 feet of 
a playground, school, or other facility where that facility 
is being used primarily by persons under 18 years of age 
for recreational, educational or other purposes. 
 (4) Class T1 and T2 licensees shall provide the board, 
upon request, the locations, dates and times sampling 
activities will take place. 
 (5) All T1 and T2 licensees must provide to the liquor 
control board, in a format prescribed by the board, a 
listing of the location, date, hours and quantities of 
tobacco products cigarettes distributed in the state for 
the previous six months. 
 (a) A report for the period covering January 1st 
through June 30th of each year is due by no later than July 
31st of each year. 
 (b) A report for the period covering July 1st through 
December 31st is due by no later than January 30th of the 
immediately following year. 
 (c) The board may take administrative action against 
any tobacco cigarette sampler who fails to submit the 
required reports. 
 
[Statutory Authority:  RCW 66.08.030.  93-23-016, § 314-10-
100, filed 11/5/93, effective 12/6/93.] 
 
 
Repeal WAC 314-10-050 

 

 

 

 


