
 
 
Notice of Rule Change – Explanatory Statement 
Official forms of identification to show proof of age to 
purchase alcohol 
 
This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor Control 
Board’s adoption of changes to the rule regarding official forms of 
identification to show proof of age to purchase alcohol. 
 
The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to 
complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the 
Office of the Code Reviser.  This statement must be provided to anyone who 
gave comment about the proposed rule making. 
 
Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to 
receive this document, the Liquor Control Board will file the amended rule with 
the Office of the Code Reviser.  This rule change will become effective 31 days 
after filing (approximately February 16, 2008). 
 
The Liquor Control Board appreciates your involvement in this rule making 
process.  If you have any questions, please contact Pam Madson, Rules 
Coordinator, at (360) 664-1648 or e-mail at rules@liq.wa.gov.  

_______________________________ 
 
 
What are the agency’s reasons for revising this rule? 
 
Legislation enacted during the 2005 legislative session eliminated certain 
documents and added tribal enrollment cards to a list of officially issued 
documents that can be used to prove age when purchasing liquor and alcohol.  
In addition to the changes in the list of official documents, additional policies 
contained in the current agency rule were evaluated by the agency and modified.  
The policy regarding use of expiration dates on official documents was modified 
and language regarding use of Washington’s temporary driver’s license was 
repealed. 
 
Legislative changes.  The Legislature changed RCW 66.16.040 as follows: 
1.  SHB 1496 (2005 session) - Authorizes enrollment cards issued by the 
governing authority of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in Washington 
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to be used as identification for the purchase of alcohol or tobacco.  The 
enrollment card must incorporate security features comparable to those 
implemented by the Department Of Licensing for Washington drivers' licenses.  
The tribe must give the liquor control board at least 90 days notice of intent to 
use the tribal enrollment card for the purpose of purchasing alcohol or tobacco. 
The liquor control board will notify licensees of the new tribal enrollment card.  
 
2.  HB 1621 (2005 session) – Eliminates the liquor control authority identification 
card as an official form of identification for proving age to purchase alcohol.   
The Board stopped issuing cards in 1971.  Two other states and four Canadian 
provinces allowed use of the card as recently as 2005.  When this bill was 
passed, it did not include reference to similar language in the tobacco statutes.  
The result is that the list for alcohol is different from the list for tobacco.   
 
Military identification now uses an imbedded signature and state law was clarified 
to allow use of an imbedded non-visible signature to meet the requirement that 
the document have a signature. 
 
Expiration dates.  The agency rule addresses the use of expiration dates on 
official documents.  Expiration dates are not required by state law.  To require an 
expiration date by rule would conflict with forms of identification the Legislature 
recognized as valid.   The  Board eliminated the regulation that all forms of 
official ID must have an expiration date but maintained a requirement that if a 
document has an expiration date, it cannot be used for proving age passed the 
date it expires. 
 
A limited survey of LCB enforcement staff and a small sample of urban retail 
licensees reveals that there is limited use of expired ID by individuals.  This was 
confirmed by LCB staff at 32 state liquor stores throughout the state.  One 
reason offered is that people know they are not acceptable.  Many other states 
require that official identification be valid to be used which means that the 
document not be expired.  This is a common policy.  When asked if they favored 
accepting identification that has expired, the opinion was overwhelming no.  The 
primary reason was that it is too easy to pass it on to those who are underage 
and would add to the pool of fake identification. 
 
Temporary Washington driver’s license.  The current rule allows an expired 
Washington driver’s license to be used as identification as long as it is 
accompanied by a “temporary paper license” or a current expiration extension 
sticker.  The format of a temporary Washington driver’s license has changed to 
include a photo of the person to whom it is issued.  It meets the statutory 
criteria for an official form of identification.  State law passed several years ago 
directed the Department of Licensing to design a temporary license to include a 
photo and make it acceptable as ID for purposes of age verification. 
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 What changes are being made? 
 
Based on legislative changes, the current WAC conflicts with RCW 66.16.040 as 
follows: 
 
1.  New forms of identification are added to WAC 314-11-025. 
The agency rule will be modified to include tribal enrollment cards for federally 
recognized Indian Tribes located in Washington. 
 
2.  Forms of identification no longer recognized are removed from WAC 314-11-
025. 
The liquor control authority card of identification of any state or province of 
Canada is removed from the agency rule.   
 
3.  Signature requirement met by use of imbedded signature for military ID. 
The agency rule will allow an imbedded signature used on military ID to satisfy 
the requirement that official identification must bear the signature of the holder. 
 
Additional policy changes include: 
 
4.  Expiration dates no longer required. 
The agency rule will no longer require that an expiration date be required on an 
official form of identification listed in statute.  However, if a document has an 
expiration date, the document may not be used if it is expired. 
 
5.  Remove reference to use of temporary driver’s licenses 
Whether a licensee or his or her employees accept a temporary license should be 
a business practice decision since the reason to check ID is to prevent sales and 
service of alcohol to persons under the age of 21 years. 
 
Rule Adoption 
 
The Board adopted this rule change on January 9, 2008.   The rule will be filed 
on January 16, 2008 and will be effective February 16, 2008. 
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Summary of all public comments received on this rule 
proposal. 
 
1.  Repealing requirement that a temporary Washington driver’s 
license must be accompanied by an expired permanent license or have 
an extension sticker. 
 
Comment:  A temporary driver’s license has no security features and is easily 
scanned and reproduced.  Allowing the use of a temporary license standing alone 
will result in a glut of fake licenses used by minors to gain access to alcohol. 
 
Response:  A temporary Washington driver’s license now has a photo along 
with a person’s date of birth and signature.  It does not contain security features 
similar to a permanent license.  The Department of Licensing recommends that a 
temporary license be used along with a punched expired permanent license.  The 
responsibility to prove age is on the person purchasing alcohol.  The person 
selling or providing alcohol must be satisfied that the purchaser is 21 years of 
age or older.  Identification may be refused if it doesn’t verify age to the licensee 
or employee’s satisfaction.   It is not necessary to adopt an LCB rule since it is 
not a licensee violation to accept other documents.  It is not a prudent practice 
to do so. 
 
2.  Requiring an expiration date on official ID document used to verify 
age when purchasing alcohol. 
 
Comment:  Allowing the use of a document beyond its expiration date may 
result in an increase in the number and use of false IDs.   
 
Response:  The person selling alcohol must be sure that the customer is 21 
years of age or older before providing that person with alcohol.  Officially 
designated documents all contain a photo along with the name and date of birth.  
That information does not change with an expiration date.  If a photo does not 
represent the person presenting the document to the satisfaction of the licensee 
or employee, that person can always ask for additional identification or refuse to 
accept identification that doesn’t clearly show the person using it is 21 or older.    
Enforcement officers are still able to verify personal information for an expired 
Washington driver’s license.   
 
Comment:  Prohibiting use of a document if its expiration date is passed, 
subjects licensees to a potential violation. 
 
Response:  The person selling alcohol must be sure that the customer is 21 
years of age or older before providing that person with alcohol.  The license 
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violation in this case is based on whether the customer is 21, not whether the 
licensee chose to base his or her decision on a document that is expired.  There 
is no requirement that the customer carry any ID.  It becomes an issue if it is 
requested by the licensee or law enforcement because the person’s age is 
questioned.  The only penalty to anyone involved if no ID is available and the 
customer’s age cannot be verified is to have the customer leave the restricted 
area and stop consuming alcohol.   
 
3.  Deleting statement in rule about ID showing a photo, date of birth, 
and signature. 
 
Comment:  Removing language from the rule that is contained in the statute 
may cause confusion over whether these are still requirements. 
 
Response:  Rules are a description of an agency’s approach to implementing 
state law.  The language of RCW 66.16.040 is the law that is being enforced.  
Rules add clarification to an agency’s approach and typically a rule will not repeat 
what is already in state law.  The added clarification in the proposed rule is that 
expiration dates are not required but if they are used on a piece of official ID, 
they may not be used to verify age after the expiration date has passed.  The 
rule does repeat the list of documents to provide context for the statements 
about the expiration date. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Public Comment Participant List 
 
Name and Affiliation 
 
Written comments 
 
Kevin Zellmer, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Monaco 
Robert Knowles, Enforcement Agent, Washington State Liquor Control Board 
Pat McFerran, Enforcement Agent, Washington State Liquor Control Board 
Jacqueline Eliason, Enforcement Agent, Washington State Liquor Control     

Board 
Michael Transue, Washington State Restaurant Association  
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Testimony at Public Hearing –  December 5, 2007 at Olympia, WA 
 
None 
 
Note:  In addition to individual comments listed above, several staff in the Enforcement 
and Education Division and at state retail liquor stores participated in an internal survey 
to determine the agency’s experience with individuals using expired official identification 
to purchase alcohol or enter restricted liquor establishments.  They also submitted 
opinions on changing the current policy. 
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Text of modified rule (Estimated effective date is February 16, 2008) 
Official forms of identification to show proof of age to 
purchase alcohol 
 

 

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 01-06-014, filed 2/26/01, 

effective 3/29/01) 

 

 WAC 314-11-025  What are the forms of acceptable 

identification?  (1) Per RCW 66.16.040, following are the 

forms of identification that are acceptable to verify a 

person's age for the purpose of selling, serving, or 

allowing a person to possess or consume alcohol: 

 (a) ((Liquor control authority card of identification 

of any state or province of Canada; 

 (b))) Driver's license, instruction permit, or 

identification card of any state or province of Canada, or 

"identicard" issued by the Washington state department of 

licensing per RCW 46.20.117; 

 (((c))) (b) United States armed forces identification 

card issued to active duty, reserve, and retired personnel 

and the personnel's dependents, which may include an 

embedded, digital signature in lieu of a visible signature; 

 (((d))) (c) Passport; ((and 

 (e))) (d) Merchant Marine identification card issued 

by the United States Coast Guard; and 
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 (e) Enrollment card issued by the governing authority 

of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in 

Washington, if the enrollment card incorporates security 

features comparable to those implemented by the department 

of licensing for Washington driver's licenses. 

 (2) ((In order for the identification to be acceptable 

to verify a person's age, it must: 

 (a) Show the person's photo, date of birth,  

signature, and expiration date; and 

 (b) Not be expired (except that an expired Washington 

driver's license card together with a current temporary 

paper license or a current expiration extension sticker is 

acceptable).)) If the identification document has an 

expiration date, a person may not use the document after 

the expiration date to verify his or her age. 

 

[Statutory Authority:  RCW 66.08.030, 66.28.100, 66.28.040, 

66.28.090, 66.44.010, 66.44.070, 66.44.200, 66.44.270, 

66.44.291, 66.44.292, 66.44.310, 66.44.316, 66.44.318, 

66.44.340, 66.44.350, and chapter 66.44 RCW.  01-06-014, § 

314-11-025, filed 2/26/01, effective 3/29/01.] 
 


